Calamity Jane Newport Beach Film Festival #npff

newport beach film fest
http://tinyurl.com/n9ata5o

 

I am looking forward to seeing a true American Shero. She was all things to many but one thing for sure Calamity Jane took no mess in the west. In the latest Documentary, Director Gregory Monro does a great job in telling the story of a legend and the woman we want to learn more about. I had the pleasure of interviewing him for the up in coming film at the Newport Beach Film Festival. Here’s what he had to say:

Q: How did you decide on telling the story of Calamity Jane?
A: I have been working on Calamity Jane for more than a dozen years now. At the very beginning I was planning in making a feature but with all the material I gathered I had the chance to create two exhibitions, published two books and eventually directed the up-coming documentary. I’ve also acquired her famous diary and letters a decade ago and I’m working on a script regarding that incredible story.
Q: While doing research there really wasn’t any concrete evidence that the things she acquired during her life was real. How in-depth was your research?
A: The more I dug into the research the more I got stuck into it. I ended up with tones of documents and spent a tremendous amount of time trying to make the light on the real person. There are so many contradictions amongst the biographies, in what related people who met her or didn’t meet her, even the movies we know are confusing.
Q: Do you like the era of the cowboy? 
A: I’ve always had a passion for the American West History, probably because I grew up with all the Hollywood motion pictures. I also love to travel through the western States. Wyoming, South Dakota, Montana offer a real glimpse into the old west, and of course Colorado, where I shot almost all the film. People have always been nice to me anywhere in the west. I hope I’ll get a chance to come back and shoot another movie.
Q: Without giving away too much of the story, what do you want the audience to know about Calamity Jane? 
A: She had an incredible destiny, was very famous and was made a living legend, but what she really wanted is to have a standard life with a husband and children. She actually was married several times and had at least two children. But her fame and her lifestyle, bad habits like hanging in the saloons, smoking and drinking like men, kind of drag her into hell and she really suffered from it because she never had what she really wanted. The great thing is that you don’t need to know anything about Calamity Jane to appreciate the film. If you want to be told the true and amazing story of an extraordinary woman who was part of the Conquest of the West, rush into the theatre!
Q: What can we expect next from you?
A: I guess a bit like with Calamity, the unexpected ! I am actually starting the shooting of my next documentary on a legendary Hollywood star, and I’m also witing a TV series and a thriller feature.
Gregory Monro 2
Director on the set of Calamity Jane
Director Gregory Monro will be attending a live Q&A following the film. Contact him by email contactmonro@gmail.com.
You heard here first, Click those cowboy boots and saddle up! Calamity Jane is coming to town! #beachiebeautyapproved
Check out Calamity Jane and get your tickets here: http://tinyurl.com/n9ata5o
Andrea Price

 

